demosync.blogg.se

Can i highlight text in kindle for mac
Can i highlight text in kindle for mac







  1. #CAN I HIGHLIGHT TEXT IN KINDLE FOR MAC HOW TO#
  2. #CAN I HIGHLIGHT TEXT IN KINDLE FOR MAC DOWNLOAD#
  3. #CAN I HIGHLIGHT TEXT IN KINDLE FOR MAC FREE#

The speed is simply phenomenal compared to Stanza, which sometimes pauses just to load chapters.

#CAN I HIGHLIGHT TEXT IN KINDLE FOR MAC DOWNLOAD#

I can download any one of 240,000 Kindle-formatted books in the blink of an eye. (Granted, I can’t make notes in Stanza, either±I hope Lexcycle remedies that in an update.) Those are serious drawbacks with the Kindle app.īut Kindle is easy on the eyes and easy to navigate. And I cannot highlight text or make other notations in the Kindle app, which is one of the more appealing features of the Kindle device. I can adjust the type size in the Kindle app, but I cannot change the typeface or adjust the margins as I can in Stanza. Unlike Stanza, Kindle doesn’t support landscape mode. Stanza simply does more than the Kindle app does.Īdjustments Needed: You can adjust font sizes, but not change fonts or adjust margins.

can i highlight text in kindle for mac

On balance, however, I’d give Stanza the edge in terms of functionality and flexibility. Kindle is a fine e-book reader, with a huge selection of books to buy, a nice interface and blazing fast download times. (Bookshelf and eReader users, please hold your fire.) And I cannot help but compare the Kindle app to Stanza ( ), which I use and love. Instead, my mission is to evaluate Kindle on its merits as a stand-alone iPhone app. I’ll leave it to my betters to compare how the Kindle app works to the actual device. So I know that the Kindle iPhone app is a stripped down version of the real thing. I’ve never actually used a Kindle, although I have some inkling of what it can do. I don’t own a Kindle and, as I’ve written previously, I’m unlikely to buy one anytime soon. Good thing my willpower is as strong as my wallet is light. You know you want to.”īook Report: Kindle’s reading interface is pleasant, but not as adjustable as Stanza’s. Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos is saying to readers, in so many words, “You like that? For just $359, you can get even higher.

#CAN I HIGHLIGHT TEXT IN KINDLE FOR MAC FREE#

Amazon is giving iPhone users just enough of a taste of the Kindle experience with the free app to make them crave the real thing. Oh, and the other features here are worth checking out too, if you want to swipe up and see what options you have.Amazon’s Kindle for iPhone is a gateway drug for e-book junkies. So there’s the feature! Simple tap on the green slider adjacent to “Popular Highlights” and it’ll be disabled.

#CAN I HIGHLIGHT TEXT IN KINDLE FOR MAC HOW TO#

Now you’ll see how to disable or turn off Popular Highlights in the Kindle app: Still not quite what you want, so tap on “ Other“, the very last choice on the hidden app menu. What you want to do is swipe upwards on the menu itself, and more options will be magically revealed:

can i highlight text in kindle for mac

What’s not obvious at all is that there are more choices on this menu than are being displayed. Tap on that and you’ll have a small menu pop up: Here’s the secret: On the very lower right, barely visible, is a button labelled “ Settings“. Yours will look like this (though with different books!): Or you can just proceed by tapping on “Library” to go back to the home screen of the Amazon Kindle app for iOS. You can tap on “Popular Highlights” and see more passages that people particularly like, if you’re curious.

can i highlight text in kindle for mac

You might think that tapping on the three horizontal lines on the top left would give you the ability to hide these highlights, but quite the opposite, it actually gives you a shortcut to the page that lets you see all the popular highlights instead: (I have, of course, chopped down the image just a bit to make things flow better. To start off, however, here’s the end of a chapter in a book I’m currently reading with the Popular Highlights displayed (it’s the dotted underscore): In fact, the Kindle iOS app has an interface all its own, quite unlike any other iPad app I’ve seen. It’s easy to turn off Popular Highlights, but the setting isn’t where you might think it should be. A win:win from a technological perspective.īack to your iPad, though. Heck, Apple itself often sells older generation iPad Mini units at a substantial discount through the Apple Refurb Store) work great as an ebook reader and have zillions of other iPad apps you can run, including mail, iTunes, movies, Netflix, and much more. My primary ebook reader is also an Apple iPad, though I use an iPad Mini, and the first generation units (which you can find for a steal through third parties and refurb sites. In fact, it seems like exactly the kind of feature that should default to being off, not on. Apparently, it’s not as, um, popular as the Amazon team might think. Once I shared that you can turn off the Popular Highlights feature in the Kindle app, lots of people have been asking about their specific system and configuration.









Can i highlight text in kindle for mac